Programme

18 December 2023: BBNJ Informal Dialogue

[04:00 SGT / 21:00 CET / 15:00 EST]

From UNGA 78 to COP 1: Continued…

Specific Guiding Questions will be posted by 5 December 2023

Participants invited to join holiday & end of the year BBNJ Virtual social time & Ocean “Pub Quiz”


Evolution of the BBNJ Informal Dialogue Platform

From 2023, the “High Seas Treaty Dialogues” has evolved into a multi-year informal Track 1.5 platform “BBNJ Informal Dialogues” that will continue to advance progress toward the finalization of an agreement and progress pre- and post-entry into force of the agreement.

21 virtual dialogues and 6 in person dialogues will be organized between January 2023 and December 2026.

The continued platform will include an Advisory Committee, Ad hoc Committee and a Consultative Network.

The Advisory Committee: will comprise select representatives from government, UN Member State regional groups and leading marine/ocean conservation organizations. The committee will meet regularly to plan the substance and details of the BBNJ Informal Dialogues. 

The Ad hoc Committee: will be convened to work on time-bound issues in support of the BBNJ informal Track 1.5 dialogues. Composition and tasks of the Ad hoc Committee will change over time.

Consultative Network: will include a wide group of representatives from government, civil society, and the private sector as well as scientists, economists and academics. It will meet once a year to discuss crucial and issues related to the adoption, entry into force and implementation of the BBNJ agreement.